Don’t Worry, Be Happy

I know a lot of women whose husband’s beliefs and commitment to living according to God’s Word differ from theirs.  I once was one of them.  Along the way, I often struggled with the things that I promised God but couldn’t deliver.  I was grieved about the amount of time I wanted to spend at church, in prayer, in ministry, etc.  Things usually didn’t work out the way I wanted them to because my husband was against it.  I felt so guilty like I’d lied to God.  I felt unworthy, like my works were what God really needed.  Then I found this scripture:

If a woman also vow a vow unto the Lord, and bind herself by a bond, being in her father’s house in her youth;  And her father hear her vow, and her bond wherewith she hath bound her soul, and her father shall hold his peace at her; then all her vows shall stand, and every bond wherewith she hath bound her soul shall stand.  But if her father disallow her in the day that he heareth; not any of her vows, or of her bonds wherewith she hath bound her soul, shall stand: and the Lord shall forgive her, because her father disallowed her.  And if she had at all an husband, when she vowed, or uttered ought out of her lips, wherewith she bound her soul;  And her husband heard it, and held his peace at her in the day that he heard it: then her vows shall stand, and her bonds wherewith she bound her soul shall stand.  But if her husband disallowed her on the day that he heard it; then he shall make her vow which she vowed, and that which she uttered with her lips, wherewith she bound her soul, of none effect: and the Lord shall forgive her. – Nu 30:3-8 (KJV)

I don’t think there are any married women who haven’t heard that we are to submit to our husbands.  There are very few who have always managed to get the instruction right without some challenges.  But for me, this scripture allowed me to release the guilt, frustration, and shame that came when I couldn’t do everything I planned.  God desires us to submit and honor the requests of our husband.  This means that we will have to sacrifice some things.  It also means that we must keep in our minds that we have the ability to sanctify them with our actions and attitudes.  Know that in every circumstance God is most concerned with the condition of your heart.  If your desire is to serve Him then He will be well pleased.  Don’t assume responsibility for circumstances that you cannot control.  Honor your vows to your Husband and let God take care of the rest.

Be encouraged,

T.

Leave a Reply

